Alexis Sanchez Can Still Play For Manchester City In The Champions League This Season. Here’s How [READ]

Alexis Sanchez Can Still Play For Manchester City In The Champions League This Season.

Alexis Sanchez chance to play in the Champions League hasn’t disappeared yet.

One of the striker’s main reason for wanting to leave Arsenal this summer was centred around the Gunners’ failure to qualify for Europe’s premium club competition.

Sanchez has been forced to stay at the Emirates after a deadline day move to Manchester City failed – with the Gunners missing out on bagging top target Thomas Lemar.

The Chilean might be resigned to featuring in the Europa League only this season.


But no, if City finally sign their man in the January window he can still play in the Champions League according to UEFA’s rules.

You might assume that, should Sanchez play for Arsenal in this season’s Europa League, that would be him cup-tied for European competition this season.

Apparently not.

The Champions League squads can be updated again before 1 February, ahead of the Round of 16.

According to the UEFA website:

“Players may have played in qualifying for the UEFA Champions League or UEFA Europa League, but only one of them can have played in the UEFA Europa League group stage. Players cannot represent two clubs in the UEFA Champions League from the group stage onwards.”

City would need to progress from Group F, which contains Napoli, Feyenoord and Shakhtar Donetsk, and sign Sanchez, but it could happen.


SEE ALSO: World Cup Qualifiers: 5 Hot Talking Points For Nigeria [CLICK]

Got a news tip/information for us? Email

Follow us on twitter @thesheet

Instagram: @thesheetng

Like us on Facebook @ / The Sheet

This is a 2017 Copyright of You may wish to request express approval from to republish.


  • Nawaooo 
  • OMG 
  • LOL 
  • Amazing 
  • So sad 
  • Boring 
FavoriteLoadingRead it Later
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply