Elections: The Big Fishes Who have Lost Their Re-election Bids So Far [OPEN]

Senate President Bukola Saraki

As Nigerians continue to wait eagerly for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to announce the full results and eventual winners of the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections, some interesting developments continue to emerge.

Recall that Nigerians on Saturday February 23, 2019 went to the polls to choose their next president and federal law makers from the candidates presented by over seventy political parties.


As expected, results from election are already coming just as INEC continues through it’s collation processes nationwide with some unexpected outcomes in the National Assembly elections.


As we continue to wait for the final collation of results and announcement, Thesheet.ng brings you three big politicians who unexpectedly lost out in their re-election bids against earlier projections.

  1. Bukola Saraki
Bukola Saraki

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, will not return to the upper chamber of the National Assembly after losing his re-election bid to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Ibrahim Oloriegbe.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost to his APC opponent in all four local councils in the senatorial district with the final result standing at 123,808 votes to his own 68,994.

READ ALSO: ELECTION: Stella Oduah Wins Anambra North Senatorial District Election [OPEN]

According to the results announced by INEC, Oloriegbe beat Saraki with 15,932 votes to 11,252 in Asa; 30,014 votes to 14,654 in Ilorin East; 26,331 votes to 13,013 in Ilorin South; and 51,531 votes to 30,075 in Ilorin West.

Saraki served as Kwara State governor for two terms between 2003 and 2011 when he was first elected to the Senate before he was elected Senate President after winning re-election in 2015.

2. Abiola AJimobi

Abiola Ajimobi

Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi and candidate of the All Progressives Congress in Oyo South Senatorial District was trumped in the Saturday poll by Dr Kola Balogun of Peoples Democratic Party.

Balogun scored 105,720 votes to trump Ajimobi, who recorded 92,579 votes. The PDP candidate won with a margin of 13,141. The African Democratic Party candidate, Senator Soji Akanbi, came third with 49,437 votes.

READ ALSO: BUBA GALADIMA: Timi Frank Reveals What APC, Buhari Will Do To PDP Leaders [SEE]

Oyo South Senatorial District comprises nine local government areas.

The PDP candidate cleared Ibadan North, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan South-East, Ibadan North-East, Ibarapa North and Ibarapa East and while Ajimobi won in Ibarapa Central, Ibadan South-West and Ido local government areas.

Announcing the result on Monday after about 15 hours of collation at Ibadan North Secretariat, the Returning Officer, Prof Kolawole Akinsola of the University of Ibadan, declared Balogun winner of the poll amidst fully armed security operatives on the premises.

3. Godswill Akpabio

Godswill Akpabio

The immediate past Senate Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio was on Saturday defeated during the National Assembly elections.

The PDP senatorial candidate and former Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Christopher Ekpenyong reportedly won in all the eight out of 10 local government areas released by INEC.

Only the result of the country home of Senator Akpabio, Essien Udim LGA and that of the neigbouring Ikot Ekpene LGA were still pending.

READ ALSO: DECLARATION OF RESULTS! INEC Reveals Exact Date Nigerians Will Know Their Next President [CLICK]

Also, the candidates of the PDP that contested the House of Representative elections won in all the eight LGA results released.

In the senatorial election in Etim Ekpo LGA, PDP – 6,603 votes, APC – 2,671 votes; in Abak LGA, PDP – 10,926 and APC – 9,787; Ika LGA, PDP – 9,257 and APC – 4,152.

In Ukanafun LGA, PDP – 25,952 and APC – 14,452; in Oruk Anam LGA, PDP – 25,123 and APC – 10,534

PDP polled 13,184 votes, while APC polled 6,229 votes in Obot Akara LGA

PDP polled 7,951 while APC polled 3,083 in Okono LGA; in Ini LGA, APC polled 5,897 votes, while PDP polled 13, 302 votes.

Do you have a story you care about or is there an issue you want Thesheet.ng to look into? Email your story ideas or suggestions to us at editor@thesheet.ng.
If you wish, you can also send your stories, pictures and videos to our
Whatsapp number:  09098070080
or any of our Social Media platforms:
Facebook: Facebook.com/Thesheetng
Twitter (tweet at us or DM): @thesheetng
Instagram: @thesheetng
This is a 2019 Copyright of thesheet.ng. You may wish to request express approval from thesheet.ng to republish.


  • Nawaooo 
  • OMG 
  • LOL 
  • Amazing 
  • So sad 
  • Boring 
FavoriteLoadingRead it Later
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply