Five Groups Emerge In APC As Power Sharing Hassle Continues



Five camps have emerged in the All Progressives Congress (APC)  as some chieftains begin to jostle for positions in the incoming administration.

Though chieftains of the party had been united in the quest to oust the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) out of power, the story is not the same in the pursuit of self and regional interests in the build up to the May 29 handover date.

Hausa/Fulani group


A group comprising members of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and a handful of the defunct All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP) — labelled in some quarters as the Katsina or the Hausa/Fulani group — have sprung up with a keen interest on ensuring that the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari survives the intrigues of powerful forces within the ranks of the APC.

Buhari, who did not mince words in saying that he needs men of unquestionable integrity in his government, is already pondering over the final list of members of his transition committee.

Already, seasoned administrator, Alhaji Ahmed Joda, is billed to lead the APC transition committee to be inaugurated during the week.

A former Petroleum minister and ally of Buhari is also on the list of eminent Nigerians that would facilitate a smooth transition of power from the ruling PDP to the APC on May 29, this year.

Joda is a Nigerian administrator, journalist, politician and a former permanent secretary in the Northern Nigerian Public Service, Federal Ministry of Information, Education and the Federal Ministry of Industries.

Among the nominees are Dr. Doyin Salami, selected as Vice-chairman and a seasoned journalist, Malam Adamu Adamu, who will serve as secretary of the committee.

Others are Mr. Boss Mustapha, Malam Muhammad Hayatuddin, Alhaji Abubakar Malami (SAN), Governor Rotimi Amaechi, Chief John Oyegun, Mr. Festus Odimegwu, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Mrs. Nike Aboderin, Mr. Wale Edun, Mrs. Bola Adesola, Barrister Solomon Dalong, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Senator Hadi Sirika and Brig-General Lawal Jafaru Isa (rtd).

Ahmed Bola Tinubu Group

A second group that cannot be ignored is the one led by Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu. This camp comprises members of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) that has been unrelenting in having a bigger bite in the office-sharing equation in the party.

He is working hard for the emergence of Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila and Senator George Akume as Speaker and Senate president, among others.

But some forces within the party even argue that he has had a fair share of the bargain since he has not only been assured of juicy ministerial positions but had already had his way by anointing the Vice president-elect, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

PDP defectors

The third group, often referred to as the group of PDP defectors include Governor Rotimi Amaechi and Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of Rivers and Kano states respectively. Rotimi, who served as the director general of the Buhari/Osinbajo Campaign Organisation, is said to be routing for the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki as Senate president.

The Atiku/North East Group

Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar has of late been pushing for a fair deal for the North-East geo political zone, which is asking for either the Senate President or Speaker House of Representatives to appease the people of the zone for their invaluable contributions to the party in the just concluded polls.

The North East zone is said to be claiming that it was shortchanged in 2011 due to the “coup” launched by Aminu Waziri Tambuwal in collaboration with the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Emeka Ihedioha. It insists that it had been systematically marginalised since 1999, when all the six geo-political zones of the country were considered in the office sharing arrangement by the PDP.

Those pushing that the zone be considered argued that it is the third most populous zone in Nigeria after North West and South West. They contend that the region has the highest number of minority tribes who have always been schemed out and marginalised even in the face of the Boko Haram insurgency that devastated the region.

The Atiku group, therefore, contends that since, in the just concluded Presidential and National Assembly elections, the North East produced the second highest number of votes for the APC and second highest number of Federal lawmakers for the APC, there is the need to compensate the region adequately in the incoming government for the sacrifices it continues to make for the unity, stability and indivisibility of Nigeria.

Aside those that are yet to signify interest, the names of Senator Ahmed Lawan is being mentioned for the Senate presidency, while Yakubu Dogara and Mohammed Monguno have openly declared their bid for the Speakership of the House of Representatives.

Olusegun Obasanjo Group

There is also what one analyst referred to as the group championed by former president Olusegun Obasanjo, who subtly worked for the victory of the APC in the just concluded poll. The group, which has the ears of the President-elect, might just spring a surprise in the on-going power tussle within the party.

Already, Senate President, David Mark, an ally of Obasanjo, who is waiting in the wings to cash in on the cold war within the ranks of the APC might just retain his seat.

Last week, Mark who has had a crisis-free stay as Senate president for eight years was in the Asokoro residence of the President-elect on a “congratulatory and solidarity” visit.

Senator Mark needs to muster 49 seats of the PDP in the Senate and poach at least six seats from among the ranks of aggrieved APC senators to retain his seat.

SEE ALSO: Governor Okorocha Extends Hand Of Fellowship To Opponents

 Got a news tip/information for us? Email:

Follow us on twitter @thesheetng

BBM Channel: C0042057A

Like us on Facebook @ / The Sheet

Copyright 2015 TheSheet. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.


  • Nawaooo 
  • OMG 
  • LOL 
  • Amazing 
  • So sad 
  • Boring 
FavoriteLoadingRead it Later
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply