GLO-CAF Awards 2014: Yaya Toure makes history as first player to win CAF Footballer of the Year Award four times!


Yaya Toure is African Player of the Year 2014

For the fourth year in a row, Manchester City and Cote d’Ivoire midfielder, Yaya Toure, has won the Confederation of African Football African Footballer of the Year to become the first player to win the award for four years in a row.

Toure, 31, was nominated after playing a pivotal role in winning the Premier League and League Cup, and also helping Ivory Coast qualify for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

Toure beat off the challenge from Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama to get the coveted price.


Toure scored 20 goals in City’s title-winning campaign in 2014 and also netted the equaliser in the 3-1 Capital One Cup final victory over Sunderland at Wembley last March.

He has nine goals in 26 appearances for City in all competitions so far this season, including six goals in his last nine outings.

Toure also made the Fifa shortlist for the 2014 Ballon D’Or prize in October.

Full list of winners:
African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast and Manchester City)
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa: Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)
Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Youth Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Most Promising Talent: Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)
Coach of the Year: Kheireddine Madoui (Entente Setif)
National Team of the Year: Algeria
Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria
Club of the Year: Entente Setif (Algeria)
Referee of the Year: Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)
Football Leader of the Year: Moise Katumbi – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
African Legend award: Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964 and Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964
Platinum Award: Dr Kwame Nkrumah (First President of Ghana) and His Excellency Goodluck Jonthan (President of Nigeria)
CAF team of the 2014: Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria) Defenders: Jean Kasulula (DR Congo), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana) Midfielders: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Tunisia), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria) Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) Substitutes: Raïs M’Bolhi (Algeria), Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo), Ferdjani Sassi (Tunisia), Gervinho (Ivory Coast), Abdelrahman Fetori (Libya), Akram Djahnit (Algeria), Roger Assalé (Ivory Coast)






Got a news tip/information for us? Email:

Follow us on Twitter @thesheetng and Facebook at


  • Nawaooo 
  • OMG 
  • LOL 
  • Amazing 
  • So sad 
  • Boring 
FavoriteLoadingRead it Later
Facebook Comments


Leave a Reply